20 Seconds of Courage

Remember that time I hadn’t written in so long that I forgot my wordpress password?

Yeah, that was tonight. That statement isn’t completely true because I have written over the past month or two, I just haven’t published it for anyone in the world to see. I watched a video that won a contest that was started by a cool guy, Jeff Goins. The contest was about proclaiming that you are a writer. This guy made a video and talked about his writing and how he used to write on napkins and facebook walls, on notebooks and anything else but his writing involved no risk. His writing was safe. Now, he’s a writer. His video really rang true to me. I share many of the same fears associated with truly being a writer. It takes risk. You have to put yourself out there and be completely vulnerable to your audience. It may not seem that way all the time, but when you think about taking your deepest thoughts, ideas, and revelations from your preciously guarded marble notebook and laying them out for anyone and everyone to read, it can be quite scary.

I’ve done quite a few things that people would consider to be brave. One of them was moving to a city where I only knew a handful of people. I don’t consider it brave, because I just knew it’s what I was supposed to do. I knew God was with me, and God was getting me here, so I didn’t see where courage or bravery played a part. Nonetheless, I took steps in faith and trust and that was brave.

This summer I’ve committed to myself that I will begin writing my first book. I don’t know what that book will look like, or what it will even be about. I have an idea, but I do not have a clue what the end product will be. I racked my brain over having all the details figured out before I would start writing and then I realized, I’m getting old. Life is passing me by and I’m living it, I’m thinking through it, I’m growing in it all, and I’m not writing any of it down. If I don’t write it down, how will I have anything to write about? So that’s what I’ve begun doing. In various platforms I have begun to bring the thoughts and ideas from inside my head and I’m placing them on paper. 

We can only walk one step at a time. Being brave just starts with one step. Take your first step. 

I don’t know what you’re scared of. I don’t know what you’ve been putting off doing. I don’t know what you need to be brave about right now, but do it. We Bought a Zoo taught me it only takes 20 seconds of courage. Make your move, friend.

One thought on “20 Seconds of Courage”

Leave a Reply

