Closets, Showers and Vulnerability

What do all these things have in common?

I was cleaning my room,
which is a crazy statement in itself. I should just leave the post at that. I was cleaning my room. The end.
My parents are coming next week. That’s the only reason why.
and I actually stopped to type up this post.

I was going through my clothes making piles of “hang” and “fold” when my mind went back to last night when I let an almost complete stranger go through my closet! Okay she isn’t a complete stranger, she’s a co-worker, but it felt like she was a stranger. It felt like she was a stranger with a microscope inspecting the depths of my soul via my clothes closet. Do you know what I’m talking about?

It’s the same way with the shower. I share a bathroom with one of my roommates but something both of us do is close the shower curtain after we’re done in the shower. It makes sense to do because the shower curtain is much cuter than the inside of the shower, but I think it goes deeper than that. I was doing my hair and make up with my co-worker in my bathroom and the curtain was opened and I felt completely vulnerable, so I pulled it shut.

The thing is, at least with the closet, when you let someone see it, they get to know you. They find out your taste. They see your personality. They get a peek into your life beyond what they previously knew. “You have good taste” or “You have really cute clothes” are both things I’ve been told about my closet.

I think with the shower it’s just attached to being naked which makes you completely vulnerable and therefore even seeing the inside of the shower is too close to you seeing me naked

Maybe I’d hear great things if I let people see my soul, too.

Maybe I’d see great things if I let people see my soul.

Maybe it’s time to bare it all.

Leave a Reply

