Day Two | Talking Just to Talk

I used to be an extrovert
or maybe I was just an introvert in denial.
No…
really I just didn’t know who I was.

Anyway. Now I know who I am and I am a proud introvert. (There’s a lot of misunderstanding about personality types, especially introversion versus extroversion. If you want to understand the concepts better read this.) I’m all about ideas and I love one on one interaction.  A few years ago I decided that I wasn’t going to conform to the common small talk and shallowness and regular patterns and process that is involved in new relationships. I don’t do it. I won’t do it.

If you meet me in real life, it will most likely take me about five minutes to begin talking to you about life and God and love and what I feel called to. I don’t hesitate to dive in and ask real questions. I want to know what you’re interested in, what makes your heartbeat, what sets you on fire. I love tapping into dream potential. You know what I’m talking about? It’s like you’re talking to someone about something and then all of the sudden you flip a switch and you can see their face light up, the tone of their voice change, and usually the speed or amount of their talking increases.

I live for that. I live for seeing that and capitalizing on it. I want to hear your dreams and passions and cheer you on in your pursuit. I want to know your story and who you really are. I want to see how our passions overlap, how we can work together, and how I can support you in your journey.

I don’t want to scratch the surface. I don’t want to talk about the weather and sports and traffic (though I do often complain about Nashville traffic). I don’t want to talk just to talk. I would rather sit in silence.

So that’s why it’s been a week since I talked with my best friend about getting into the habit of writing and agreed that I could manage writing for at least ten minutes every day so I can feel like I’m making progress towards my dreams and this is only the third time I’ve written.

Happy Friday.

Leave a Reply

